Miasto Stoleczne Warszawa

Dziesiątki miejsc na poranne spacery

New trees in the Garden of the Righteous

published: 2019-07-08 11:06, mlan
New trees in the Garden of the Righteous fot. New trees in the Garden of the Righteous

The Garden of the Righteous on Jan Jura-Gorzechowski Square in Warsaw received new trees and revealed memorials to the Righteous Among the Nations.

The Righteous are the ones who stood for the dignity of man in times of 20th and 21st-century wars and atrocities. To cherish their memory, 6 March has been established as the European Day of the Righteous. This decision was made in May 2012 by the European Parliament on the initiative of the Italy-based Gardens of the Righteous Worldwide Committee (GARIWO).
This year’s Warsaw Righteous are: Arseny Borisovich Roginsky – a Russian historian and political activist conducting studies of Stalinist crimes; Ewelina Lipko-Lipczyńska – a Polish-language teacher who saved Jews during World War II, and openly opposed the anti-Semitic campaign launched by Polish communist authorities in 1968; Raoul Wallenberg – a Swedish diplomat who saved tens of thousands of Hungarian Jews from extermination during World War II.
The Righteous titles are awarded posthumously only, and for specific deeds. From among the entries, three individuals are chosen by the Committee of the Garden of the Righteous composed of eminent figures from the fields of education and culture, as well as representatives of non-governmental organisations and public administration.

The first Garden of the Righteous emerged in 2014 as a joint project of Warsaw’s History Meeting House and the Italian Gariwo Foundation, with support from the Mayor of the Wola District. The Righteous list so far includes: Jan Karski, Marek Edelman, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Anna Politkowska, Magdalena Grodzka-Gużkowska, Antonia Locatelli, Petro Grigorenko, Nelson Mandela, Hasan Mazhar, Władysław Bartoszewski, Witold Pilecki, Rev. Jan Zieja, Natalia Gorbaniewska, Jan Jelinek,  Roberto Kozak, Rafał Lemkin, Armin Wegner and Rev. Adalbert Wojciech Zink.